Bottle

“Did he drink it? How many ounces?” Yes babe, he took about half the bottle. He was fine.

Now, I’m not sure how I feel about this.  I’ve really enjoyed being able to breastfeed but I know it’s advantageous that Rory is able to take a bottle as well if I need to leave him. It makes me sad though. Really sad.  Sad and happy.  Sad that he doesn’t need me to provide for him and happy that he’s growing into an independent toddler.  Mixed emotions that my position of CEO of bedtime routine is now under threat.

“Did you brush his teeth? Did you sing both verses? I’m sure I only heard you sing one verse!”  Yes, I sang both verses.  He’s fine,  really he is!

It’s been a battle to get his teeth brushed but I found that by singing Baa Baa Black Sheep whilst doing it, it seems to make the whole process easier and helps him associate it with a routine.  I also enjoy a wee sing song whilst I’m doing it! 

Freedom...?

But did you zip him into his sleeping bag properly?  Was he actually holding his blankie? I’ll just nip in and check….

Karen! Rory is fine. Trust me.  He will be asleep in a few minutes.  Just leave him to settle.

So here I am. Downstairs, listening intently to the monitor to see if he might need me.  But I’m sure he won’t. I’m turning into a clingy Mummy and I need to let it go. It’s just another step further into the world of parenting and I’m sure there will be many more happy and sad times to come.  Mummy needs a wine now…

8 thoughts on “Bottle

  1. Since you’re a mummy, if you could read my post that I literally just published about breastfeeding and leave your views then it’d be great?! I’m not a mum yet decided to share a view I gained after reading a few news stories, however, as I said, i’m not a Mum so it’d be much appreciated 🙂
    I hope you get used to your son being more independent, all the best!

    Like

  2. Ah the guilt and relief! Bottles are a funny mix aren’t they? You never want to relinquish control its a strange emotion x

    Like

Leave a Reply

