Tears

On this occasion the tears were mine. Not Rory’s.

I had just returned from lunch with another Mummy and it had stressed me to the max. I’m all for embracing different parenting styles, I really am. I try not to judge. I try not to force my opinions on others, and I try not to be too hard on myself.  But sometimes it doesn’t go to plan.

I was sleep deprived.  That makes everything so much worse.  Rory is not the best sleeper and still wakes up for a few feeds during the night.  I debate how to manage this situation.  Stop the feeds, go with the flow, reduce the feeds gradually, etc etc. I haven’t decided yet but surely it’s MY decision to make, no?  My lunch Mummy was keen to share her thoughts….”I don’t know how you do it! I’ve never had ANY problems with my daughter sleeping through the night.  She’s slept from 7pm -7am since we brought her home from the hospital!”

NEWSFLASH….Mummies lie.  So I try to remember to take everything with a pinch of salt.

Another topic of conversation was taking our children to public places.  I find it all very stressful.  And Rory is generally quite good at going out.  He just gets bored easily and wants out his chair to crawl around, or bang on the table, or crawl up peoples trouser legs like a scaffold pole.  No, he will definitely NOT sit in his high chair for 3 hours whilst I attend a cookery class on how whip up a croquembouche for tonight’s dessert.

So Rory might not be good at sleeping (yet), he might not sit quietly in restaurants and he hates having his teeth brushed.   But he DOES like smacking the patio doors with the palm of his hand and squealing at the ‘tweet tweets’, he likes breastfeeding at night, and he loves opening and closing doors. A lot.  And I love every inch of him.  His screams, his giggles, his Mummummum noises.  And I wouldn’t change him for the world.  My Mummy friends and I have a saying, which is “This too will pass”.  And it does.  So very quickly.  And I want to make sure I embrace every second.

7 thoughts on “Tears

    • Thanks Laura, I was fine the next day. Everything is brighter after a decent nights sleep. Don’t tell me I’ve got another 9 months of this to go??? Well done you x

      Like

Leave a Reply

