The Joys of Slings

I would say that one of the hardest things about having a baby is transporting them. They are so tiny and fragile at the beginning and then they become so wriggly. Rory has now entered the slapping and hair pulling phase. Smashing.

I purchased a sling before I had Rory and I was really keen to try it out. It did not end well. It’s one of those long material ones which you wrap around yourself. Despite having instructions in the box I had to watch the video on YouTube a

Stay away from the light....

Stay away from the light….

bout how to tie it up at least twenty five times. It seemed so easy in their videos but I ended looking like I was about to skydive out a plane. This couldn’t be right. Could it? They even suggested I could breastfeed discreetly with my baby in the sling. What? Are you serious?  I was bitterly disappointed. I’d had such high hopes for Rory and I to go walks with him in the sling, so I persevered.

Other Mum’s saunter along with their baby’s snuggled in beautifully. Rory took a different approach to the sling. He would assess every opportunity to escape. I was doing a few practice lunges in the house, you know, just to check he was secure, and it looked good. I moved up a gear, doing a few laps of the kitchen and opening the fridge door to get a bottle of water. Rory saw his moment and took it. Using the leverage of the Lycra he pushed himself back and pushed forward launching himself towards the light. I found myself screaming “NO Rory! Stay away from the light!”

I refuse to be put off. As God as my witness Rory and I will go a walk with that sling. I’ll be sure to keep you updated on how that works out!

Leave a Reply

